09
Aug
07

Motherhood

Is it odd to have wished to be a mother at such a young age? I wasn’t even a pre-teen when I first had notions of wanting to someday become a mother. For some reason there have been many a time when I would watch movies and wish that I myself was the mother portrayed in the movie.

At a young age, my mom had told me that I always had a motherly instinct inborn in me. Even if I fought with my siblings a lot when I was a kid, even throwing tantrums and admittedly semi-bullying them, when they’d be asleep and I was much calmer, my mother caught me always tucking my siblings in or carrying them to bed. Until my brothers were too big too be carried to bed, I was always the one tucking them in to bed and pulling the blankets over them when they’d kick it off in their sleep.

Even so, I never waned in my desire to become someday become a wife and most especially a mother. Being one of the eldest in my family, I’ve had many a liberty taking care of my younger siblings, cousins, and nieces/nephews. Up until now, I still adore playing with my nieces and nephews especially being their babysitter during family parties, by being the one who keeps them amused and quiet.

All that’s left is still the adamant fear of childbirth. Since childhood, there was never a doubt that I wanted to be a mother, and even entertaining the notion of becoming a nun was something that I didn’t want to think of. But still, being a mother is different from the whole point of giving birth to a baby. The pain that could be inflicted from carrying a baby for 9 months, the morning sickness and up to the labour itself. It’s still one of the greatest fears that I have towards becoming a mother, most especially the unusual occasion that one could die from childbirth. I actually asked my mother about it, and she said that the pain endured during childbirth is nothing compared to the joys of finally seeing your baby after birth. Looking at it, it must be very difficult for mothers who give birth to stillborns.

Still, adoption is always an option. Though of course, one’s husband would want their children to of course be someone of their own blood (unless the mother is incapable of giving birth or having children). I doubt though that I am someone capable of being infertile, there are supposedly ways to foretell if you fertile or not.

0 Responses to “Motherhood”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Doll(dalera)

What lies behind the mask of a doll, kept sheltered and propped against the shelf wall. Beautiful and untouched for all to see, she comes unmasked in beautiful glory.

The Doll behind the mask

A fresh university graduate from the Ateneo de Manila University who loves to write stories, articles and poetry. Enjoys reading books - mostly fiction, and loves to play video games.

My Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 661 other followers

Categories

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Malatapay Wharf Facing Apo Island

World War Z

Anne Rice Collection

Dumaguete Boulevard at Sunset

Playing cards? Nope!  These are chocolates from Kablon Farms in South Cotobato. Dark and Spicy Dark goodness from locally grown cacao beans.  Get your own Kablon Farms chocolates from @1780bySariSari by ordering through sarisaristore.com/1780.  #chocolate

Post-its, pens, and colors.  #colors #schoolsupplies #officesupplies #ocd

My favorite Chocolate Devotion #恋爱巧克力 from #Coldstone Creamery! :) My China favorite. My Manila favorite. My chocolate favorite. Yummy!  #icecream #巧克力 #冰淇淋 #chocolate #dessertstagram

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 155,146 hits

