07
Dec
07

And when saving electricity means turning things off..

Coming back from school one day, me and my friends came across traffic at the Santolan and Katipunan Annex intersection. So, deciding to take a new way into consideration because of the amount of traffic we were sure to encounter, we decided to go past White Plains and Valle Verde, and pass through Meralco Avenue. Much to my surprise, excitement and a bit of horror, I came across the front of the Meralco building which displayed a large design of purely lit buildings and if I saw it clearly, it included a belen.

Now one may think that I’m outraged at the sight of such a religious display, but no…it’s not that. We are taught, over and over again that the country is in a state of poverty for most people, and that we should save whatever we can – and that includes money, food, water and electricity. Yet the company itself that is in-charge of handing out electricity to Metropolitan Manila, displays the utmost exhibition of waste. Waste. Waste. Waste.

I hope that I am not offending anyone, most especially Meralco, by my display of opinions. I do applaud Meralco for having done a very well lit presentation, and Christmas time is the time for a bit of holiday exuberances, but in some way they’re going a bit too far. The belen itself is not really well presented because of the presence of too many lights in the area. Meralco usually prides themselves in lighting all their trees, adorning their building with lights of greeting, and even laying out a spread of lights that comes from near the top of the building until the center entrance of Meralco. But this time, not only did they decorate all their trees (yet again), and also present numerous and thousands of lights all over the area, but I feel that they’ve excessively used their lights.

I know Meralco has a lot of money to spend on lights. I know that they’re in-charge of the electricity distribution. But still, that amount of lights is just too much…even if it’s Christmas season. Makes me wonder if that is where a lot of our money, goes to.


1 Response to “And when saving electricity means turning things off..”



Leave a comment


The Doll(dalera)

What lies behind the mask of a doll, kept sheltered and propped against the shelf wall. Beautiful and untouched for all to see, she comes unmasked in beautiful glory.

The Doll behind the mask

A fresh university graduate from the Ateneo de Manila University who loves to write stories, articles and poetry. Enjoys reading books - mostly fiction, and loves to play video games.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 661 other subscribers

Categories

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 156,058 hits