16
Dec
07

Hataw Hanep Hero3: The Lucky Star story

39.jpg

Last December 2, me and my friends attended the Hero Hataw Hanep Convention at the SM X. Day 2 was not as busy as Day 1, as I later found out by word of mouth and over the internet. That Sunday, we weren’t met with a long crowd, and neither did we meet a long line getting into the convention hall. Instead, we were met with a few fans and a few other cosplayers who attended the well-advertised event.

Our group cosplayed the anime Lucky Star, consisting of 4 main characters, namely Tsukasa, Kagami, Konata and Miyuki. About a month before the event itself, we had ourselves fitted by Jac Ting Lim (a professional cosplayer whom I also featured in my Art of Cosplay, part I article) whom I had met on the internet site – deviantart, a few years back. We met her in Robinsons Galleria before heading to her apartment, which was a few minutes away, before proceeding to discuss which characters each of us would portray and what our schedule and time-line would be, as well as have our measurements made for our respective costumes.

A few weeks later, after much discussion at one time concerning attending the H3 convention, we finally had our costumes finished, and we were at the point of finalizing everything else (wigs, shoes, socks and other matters).

During the event itself, we didn’t pre-meet before the event in costume and only met during the convention itself. We went around and had many fans take pictures of us, and our group (despite the fact that we weren’t fully IN COSTUME). For your information, we were there only to costrip, and not to join in the actual group cosplay competition itself. So we went around and enjoyed ourselves, and even had ourselves a small group photoshoot outside of the convention hall, with Fee Cheang (my sister’s boyfriend) as our photographer.

It was truly a fun event. We had more pictures taken before we met up with our schoolmates who are also famous cosplayers/photographers, and indeed had more of our pictures taken.

Watch out for us in a 2008 convention, more members and possibly even a dance in tow. 🙂

Lucky Star group, and phtographer:

Some other Ateneo H3 attendees:

From the Tuxedo Team:

27.jpg

Lucky Star Group

28.jpg

Hiiragi twins

29.jpg

Kagami Hiiragi

dresdendoll

All pictures are credited to Phillip Cheang and Pauline Ty,

as well as to the cosplayers involved.

For more pictures, check here..

19 Responses to “Hataw Hanep Hero3: The Lucky Star story”


  1. 1 Tifa
    January 13, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Hey there! Tiffany from Celadon here. Wow, you went to the HeroCon? My friends and I were there, too, but we were there on Saturday. I thought you were going there on Saturday, because I heard from Cara (we’re classmates in wushu) that you’d be cosplaying. Actually, we were looking forward to seeing Atenean cosplayers like you, Cara, Alodia and her friends, etc… but we didn’t see anyone. We saw some Lucky Star cosplayers, and we were wondering if they were you guys, but they weren’t.

    I like your costumes! 🙂 I think it’s cool that you’re into cosplaying and all. My friends and I dream of cosplaying too, but we don’t really have body types suitable for cosplaying, and we’re a bit insecure. 😄 We might cosplay during the next HeroCon; that is, if we won’t be too busy by that time. If not… well, we’ll try to cosplay. Someday. 🙂

    By the way, what’s “costrip”? I first heard of that during the HeroCon, but I never knew what it meant.

  2. January 13, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    @ Tifa: Yes, we were supposed to attend the Saturday event, but a sudden conflict in schedule with my NSTP and other events led us to attend the Sunday event instead. Alodia and the other Ateneans attended the Sunday Event, with much flurry from the numerous fans. 🙂

    And yes, there were other Lucky Star cosplayers, but not group ones (from what I heard).

    Thank you! 🙂 It’s not really about body type, but rather your desire and passion for anime and cosplaying that makes really great cosplayers. I have a friend from Ateneo as well, who can be seen sporting loli outfits on many days. Don’t be insecure, as long as it’s fun, you should try it!! 😄

    Costrip refers to cosplaying at an event, without participating in any contests. You just attend the event cosplaying, for the heck of it~ n______n

  3. 3 Tifa
    January 17, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Too bad I wasn’t able to go there on Sunday…

    Yeah, I’m definitely going to try cosplaying at least once in my life. Thanks for the advice! 🙂 Actually, sometimes I feel this urge to wear loli clothing in Ateneo. By the way, if you don’t mind me asking, where in Manila can I buy Goth Loli clothing? (Or at least clothing that resembles the Loli look.)

    i see. Thanks for the definition! 🙂

    I heard that there’s going to be a cosplay convention in April. Mangaholix, I think. Will you be there? Hopefully, I will be able to cosplay… (well, if I get an outfit, and some confidence, and all… :D)

  4. January 22, 2008 at 12:34 am

    @ Tifa: I seriously want to wear loli outfits. Just ignore all the glances, stares, comments and dress code issues. LOL. Actually, I’m not sure where one can buy goth loli outfits. My friend has her outfits and shoes made.

    Yes, Mangaholix is done during the summer. I attended the one last year. 🙂 Hopefully, I’ll be able to attend. Hope you can attend as well. Be confident!

  5. 5 nyaonyao
    February 8, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Hello sweetie, this is shinyredballoon from dA. Just commenting to say that I’ve re-edited your photos 🙂

    Also: I hope to see you guys again at the upcoming cons. Ozine, Mangaholix, etc. 🙂

  6. February 14, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Just passed by in looking for H3 con reads. =D
    Do you accept linkies?

  7. February 20, 2008 at 12:07 am

    @ nyaonyao: Thanks so much dear. 🙂 I’ve gone over the pictures you took of us at the convention. They are simply <3. See you at the upcoming conventions!

    @ Nagi: Thanks so much for dropping by my site. What do you mean by linkies? Sorry, could you please elaborate. 😄

  8. April 7, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Hi, linkies.. etou.. i put a link of your site and you put mine. ^_^;;
    Were you at Ozine?

  9. April 9, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    @ Nagi: Sure, linkies are no problem. 🙂 A little advertising is a great way to get around. At Ozine? Nope. I was busy finishing some documents and couldn’t drop by. My friends dropped by though.

  10. 10 Incog
    May 8, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Are you going to give away your costume after you are done with them. Its natural to give them away to fill the final loses in to the Lucky star anime. They have been trying to give there uniforms from the very beginning so Are you going to the same???

    Incog

  11. May 24, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    @ Incog: Actually, I’m keeping my costume. Since me and my sister played the twins in the anime, it’s okay to keep the costumes. Plus, it’s of sentimental value. 🙂

  12. 12 FAN ANIMES
    July 1, 2008 at 4:45 am

    AAAA
    ESTA MUY BUENO
    BYE BEE

  13. July 6, 2008 at 1:58 am

    @ FAN ANIMES: Muchas gracias mi amigo.

  14. 14 JayUki
    August 29, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    HELLO TO ALL SOWIE PO PERO PWEDE MAGTANONG,,,,,,,

    KAILAN UNG EVENT THIS YEAR????

    THANKS…..

    ^_^

  15. January 14, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    cute blog, if u have time check mine out at GuideToBeingaTeenager.com

  16. February 5, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Hello sweetie! Late post is late, I know (sorry!) ^^;

    I had tons of fun cosplaying with you guys *glomps you all* X3

  17. February 8, 2009 at 3:50 am

    @ Jac: It’s okay dearie! I also had fun cosplaying with all of you. It was the first time I really did and prepared for a cosplay event. Hope to cosplay with you again! 🙂

  18. March 9, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    great domain name for blog like this)))
    ————————
    ad: http://pedeno.ru/


Leave a Reply

The Doll(dalera)

What lies behind the mask of a doll, kept sheltered and propped against the shelf wall. Beautiful and untouched for all to see, she comes unmasked in beautiful glory.

The Doll behind the mask

A fresh university graduate from the Ateneo de Manila University who loves to write stories, articles and poetry. Enjoys reading books - mostly fiction, and loves to play video games.

My Tweets

  • RT @Forbes: Filipino hospitality and high-end gambling: Why Manila is the next luxury hot spot in Southeast Asia on.forbes.com/60168ZPbe ht… 17 hours ago
  • On page 161 of 212 of Letters from Pemberley, by Jane Dawkins goodreads.com/user_status/sh… 1 day ago
  • 我今天晚上跟一个大陆朋友和她的两个孩子(她们住在这里了)一起吃饭。那个阿姨让我推荐我们在哪里会吃晚饭。 我推荐一个跟我公司附近的一个意大利饭馆。很好就是我们点的菜很好吃。有比萨、沙拉、挂面、和肉,真好吃。 真舒一口气! 1 day ago
  • @maddysweetweets Awww, ang bilis lang pala. Hope you enjoyed your trip! Napadpad ka rin pala sa kabilang side ng Negros. :D 2 days ago
  • 怎么回事? 快要4月了。 2 days ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 661 other followers

Categories

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Playing cards? Nope!  These are chocolates from Kablon Farms in South Cotobato. Dark and Spicy Dark goodness from locally grown cacao beans.  Get your own Kablon Farms chocolates from @1780bySariSari by ordering through sarisaristore.com/1780.  #chocolate

Post-its, pens, and colors.  #colors #schoolsupplies #officesupplies #ocd

My favorite Chocolate Devotion #恋爱巧克力 from #Coldstone Creamery! :) My China favorite. My Manila favorite. My chocolate favorite. Yummy!  #icecream #巧克力 #冰淇淋 #chocolate #dessertstagram

Life springs from sorrow & calamity. Death from ease & pleasure.

When in Rome, do as the Romans do.

My current #toolsofthetrade #calligraphy #handwriting

Jamba Juice

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 155,048 hits

