03
Jun
08

It was great being a kid. Why did we ever want to be an adult?

You know, growing old is one of the hardest things some people have to face. For me, it’s one of the things I dread the most. But it’s funny how everyone starts out getting all excited about growing up, even questioning the fact that Peter Pan doesn’t want to grow up. Suddenly those teenage years start and everyone’s hyping on finally getting into a PG-13 movie without parental supervision, or going out to parties with a later curfew, staying overnight at a friend’s house, and taking that first swing at an alcoholic beverage. But the excitement doesn’t last, and you find yourself regretting that you made yourself grow up too fast and that you didn’t spend your years acting as much as a kid (without much consequence) as you could.

Here I stand now, 4-5months from celebrating another birthday, and not just a simple birthday at that. It’s the big 2-0..the first year out of teenage-hood. Nothing physically changes of course as a person crosses that day from being 19 to turning 20. But deep inside, it feels really different, or it would probably feel different – not that I know it would be different, I haven’t crossed that line yet.

I’ve called myself an “oldie” these couple of months, only to be laughed at by the parents and relatives who are years and years older than me. This has in some way made me feel a bit better, knowing I’m not the only one suffering from this so-called disease. But one recent event has made me come to the realization that I’m only about 20 weeks away from leaving my teenage years…Click5 concert.

It was a sudden thing really. I had no real plans of going anywhere far but my close friend and neighbor invited me to spend the night with her and her cousins at the Click5 concert. Now, who in their right mind would turn down free tickets to a really famous international band? So I joined in and the next day, we were off to The Big Dome and comfortably seated ourselves in our Patron seats. Good lord, most of the crowd I saw present at the concert were teenagers. And not the typical adult-ish teens, no, they were probably teens in their 15’s or 16’s. And there I was with my friends, who were around half a decade older than them. There was a mixture of parents with their kids, some celebs, some couples and even some working adults in their late years. But what struck me the most was that among those seated in the patron seats, everyone was practically younger than us. And to make it even worse, in our first set of seats, we had a bunch of kids or probably pre-teens with a bodyguard each at the end of the chairs.

How old could we get?

Then of course our group got into some problems with the staff because we were seating in someone else’s chair. And in the middle of the concert (thank goodness Click5 wasn’t on stage yet), we were asked to move. So everyone was staring at our group moving about, how embarrassing, and as it turns out, we were on the wrong side of the stage. We made a mistake because the chairs weren’t marked properly. But everything turned out for the better. Our actual seats had a better view of the stage. Lucky us! 🙂

Back to the original topic. Seated in front of our new seats were some really tall foreign students. And when I say foreign students, I don’t mean those foreign students who come for a year or two to study. No, I mean those foreign students who ‘moved’ here from abroad because of their parent’s jobs, and were being sent to study in school such as IS, or British International, or whatever International school Manila has to offer. So, so much for the first impression that this group was around our age. Taking in the Western-Asian difference of looking old but being young, and being young but looking old, this group was probably a few yours younger than us.

Can you believe that? And I thought god, a concert to make me feel younger. No…it was the opposite.

I had to come face to face with the truth eventually. I am not that young anymore, and though I would like to fool myself a bit more, I have to find work in 2 years. In 4-5months, I’ll be joining the league of real adults who don’t have -teen at the end of their ages. I’ll officially be part of an older generation. And I say this with much sarcasm, Lucky me. Here’s to all of us who pushed ourselves to grow up too fast, to us who would add “and a half” to our ages when we were still naive and innocent, to us who felt out of place when we went to places because we were with a bunch of adults (and now wish we treasured those moments), and to all other experiences that have made us realize one thing.

It was great being a kid. Why did we ever want to be an adult?

0 Responses to “It was great being a kid. Why did we ever want to be an adult?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Doll(dalera)

What lies behind the mask of a doll, kept sheltered and propped against the shelf wall. Beautiful and untouched for all to see, she comes unmasked in beautiful glory.

The Doll behind the mask

A fresh university graduate from the Ateneo de Manila University who loves to write stories, articles and poetry. Enjoys reading books - mostly fiction, and loves to play video games.

My Tweets

  • RT @jprmercado: If you’re interested in learning Baybayin, I picked three links that talk about its history and, of course, how to write it… 12 hours ago
  • RT @TheEconomist: How Japan was sold to 19th-century tourists econ.st/2ui6wXC From @1843mag https://t.co/K05kqBkqUQ 1 day ago
  • Also, my slight fever has escalated to 39'c in the last 4 hours. 😔 So much for me trying to just sleep it off. Just took meds. 1 day ago
  • Went to bed at 9pm. Woke up like 6x in between. And then fully woke up thinking it was morning, only to find out it was still 1am. 😰 1 day ago
  • 有的人,你睡觉之前只想跟他们聊一聊。 谢谢为你的作伴,谢谢为你的耐心,谢谢为你的洗耳恭听。谢谢为了你。 2 days ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 661 other followers

Categories

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 155,196 hits

