25
Oct
08

Book Review: For One More Day

Review on: For One More Day by Mitch Albom

Rating: 5/5

Recommended

A book I believe all of us can relate to at one point or another in our lives, “For One More Day” gives the reader the opportunity to see what the main character feels as he goes on a journey to experience that one more day with a loved one. What would you do if you had that one more day to spend with that special someone or a special friend, had one more day to tell them how you felt, had one more day to forget how busy you were for them or how angry you were at them?

For One More Day, is what I would call an easy read. Short, precise, but very touching. Despite how short the chapters and the book turn out to be, it doesn’t leave the reader hanging at all. The way the story is told within the book, the words feel as if they’re reaching out to you. This book is really a must-read, because it helps the reader to realize how short our life really is, and how much we must live it out to the fullest, especially with the people that we love. Life is not to be taken for granted, but we must live our lives as best we can, through the endeavours and all.

What I love most about the book is the opportunity it gives to readers to realize how a mother (or father) may impact our lives, and how parents can be one of the people most taken-for-granted. Sometimes, all it takes is the chance to see how the other side feels, for us to understand that things aren’t always what they seem.

It’s really hard to explain how touched I was when I was reading this book. It reminded me of all the people I never got the chance to say goodbye to. And for a while, I had wished I was the character myself, able to spend that one more day with the people I never got to say farewell too, or the people I was never able to appreciate enough in life. Lesson: Spend each day with your loved one, as if it were your last. You never know when it will be time to say good-bye.

One more life lesson learned.


3 Responses to “Book Review: For One More Day”


  1. October 30, 2008 at 5:11 am

    Last Saturday My Special Friend watched Oprah Winfrey Show.. And the show is about -For One More Day- Book !! He Said want to get this book very much.. But This Book Unavailable In Indonesia, Would you Help me to get this Book ?

  2. October 30, 2008 at 11:55 am

    @Rangga: I’m sorry but I can only suggest how you can try to get the book, since I have no idea how I could in any way help you get the book. Try calling the bookstores around Indonesia, ask around if they have a copy. Try novelty bookstores, second hand bookstores, specialty bookstores. If you really can’t find one, the next best thing is to see if you can get a copy from abroad. One way can be to see if a friend is going anywhere abroad, ask them if they could get a copy of the book for you. Another way is to ask a friend from abroad to ship you a copy of the book. The nearer, the better, for example from Singapore or Malaysia, or even from the Philippines. Hope this helps.🙂


Leave a Reply

The Doll(dalera)

What lies behind the mask of a doll, kept sheltered and propped against the shelf wall. Beautiful and untouched for all to see, she comes unmasked in beautiful glory.

The Doll behind the mask

A fresh university graduate from the Ateneo de Manila University who loves to write stories, articles and poetry. Enjoys reading books - mostly fiction, and loves to play video games.

My Tweets

  • @GenesisxSantos Somehow "Where You are" is stuck in my head! :D 1 hour ago
  • Oh my, I can't even remember the last episode of Castle that I've seen. Where was I last??!!! 4 hours ago
  • Moana album is on Spinnr...so yeah, let's LSS this! :)) 11 hours ago
  • "Your world is a living expression of how you are using—and have used—your mind." —Earl Nightingale via @momentumdash 21 hours ago
  • RT @barnabychuck: In Philippine cases examined by Reuters and CHR, police killed 97% of those they shot – 33 dead per person wounded. https… 1 day ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 663 other followers

Categories

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Playing cards? Nope!  These are chocolates from Kablon Farms in South Cotobato. Dark and Spicy Dark goodness from locally grown cacao beans.  Get your own Kablon Farms chocolates from @1780bySariSari by ordering through sarisaristore.com/1780.  #chocolate

Post-its, pens, and colors.  #colors #schoolsupplies #officesupplies #ocd

My favorite Chocolate Devotion #恋爱巧克力 from #Coldstone Creamery! :) My China favorite. My Manila favorite. My chocolate favorite. Yummy!  #icecream #巧克力 #冰淇淋 #chocolate #dessertstagram

Life springs from sorrow & calamity. Death from ease & pleasure.

When in Rome, do as the Romans do.

My current #toolsofthetrade #calligraphy #handwriting

Jamba Juice

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 154,899 hits

