02
Dec
08

ABS-CBN in Copyright Violation

Written by Noemi Lardizabal-Dado. Re-posted from here.

It is rare for me to rant in my blog unless of course, there is a positive resolution in the end. I also believe that when I have problems with services or products, I give the business owners or officers a way out. Ranting without doing anything about it is just not my cup of tea. In most cases, my bitch powers work and I often get satisfactory results. Being married to a lawyer, I often hear my husband say that one should try amicable settlement before filing a suit. Our courts are swamped with thousands and upon thousands of court cases that have yet to be resolved years later.

I also don’t believe in pulling strings to get my message across. I feel that one should start with the persons involved before bringing it to the highest officer or persons involved in my complaint.

As a blogger, I often encounter copyright infringement. We, of course, know that most of the blogs are hosted in servers based in the US where Digital Millennium Copyright Act (”DMCA”) is strictly enforced. A Friendster Blogger even stole my personal entries to make it come off as hers. Two bloggers copied off my recipes complete with photos hotlinked to my server. In cases, like these, one should get hold of the host and report the violation in a specified format. In 24 hours (except for blogger.com because they want the complaint mailed), the entry is removed. Oh yeah, Friendster makes it hard to report copyright violations.

I also choose my battles.

Read the rest here.

My entry does not end with TJ Manotoc or ABS CBN.

Lesson learned: Always be aware of what you publish on the net. Also, if someone uses your art, takes credit for your work or does not credit your work, find the proper authorities to whom you can complain. Do not take it lying down because your work and your image is important. Of course, you must first contact the person/company who used your work without credit/permission. When that does not turn up anything useful, like the person/company refuses to acknowledge their mistake, then you take it to higher authorities.


Leave a Reply

The Doll(dalera)

What lies behind the mask of a doll, kept sheltered and propped against the shelf wall. Beautiful and untouched for all to see, she comes unmasked in beautiful glory.

The Doll behind the mask

A fresh university graduate from the Ateneo de Manila University who loves to write stories, articles and poetry. Enjoys reading books - mostly fiction, and loves to play video games.

My Tweets

  • @GenesisxSantos Somehow "Where You are" is stuck in my head! :D 1 hour ago
  • Oh my, I can't even remember the last episode of Castle that I've seen. Where was I last??!!! 4 hours ago
  • Moana album is on Spinnr...so yeah, let's LSS this! :)) 11 hours ago
  • "Your world is a living expression of how you are using—and have used—your mind." —Earl Nightingale via @momentumdash 21 hours ago
  • RT @barnabychuck: In Philippine cases examined by Reuters and CHR, police killed 97% of those they shot – 33 dead per person wounded. https… 1 day ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 663 other followers

Categories

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Playing cards? Nope!  These are chocolates from Kablon Farms in South Cotobato. Dark and Spicy Dark goodness from locally grown cacao beans.  Get your own Kablon Farms chocolates from @1780bySariSari by ordering through sarisaristore.com/1780.  #chocolate

Post-its, pens, and colors.  #colors #schoolsupplies #officesupplies #ocd

My favorite Chocolate Devotion #恋爱巧克力 from #Coldstone Creamery! :) My China favorite. My Manila favorite. My chocolate favorite. Yummy!  #icecream #巧克力 #冰淇淋 #chocolate #dessertstagram

Life springs from sorrow & calamity. Death from ease & pleasure.

When in Rome, do as the Romans do.

My current #toolsofthetrade #calligraphy #handwriting

Jamba Juice

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 154,899 hits

